It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 2:48 am

For The Union Keeps Us Strong 
Chibi-Czar

Post For The Union Keeps Us Strong
The rich get richer while the poor get poorer.

"Understanding the scope of the problem is the first step to true panic."
--Freefall

A file that big?
It might be very useful.
But now it is gone.
-- David J. Liszewski

Fri Apr 13, 2007 10:49 pm
Chibi-Czar

And there is a silver lining on that cloud if you read the last paragraph.

Sat Apr 14, 2007 9:29 pm
WAR SysOp

But the Union is why I can't get a raise for actually doing GOOD work.

Still, I guess every 6 months having a raise is nice. Too bad most companies do that ANYWAY.

Christopher Fiss
W.A.R. SysOp

Sat Apr 14, 2007 9:57 pm
Chibi-Czar

Location: The Frozen North of the Upper Peninnsula of Michigan

I work as a part-time janitor at my college residence hall, and the Union for the fulltimers seems to be just an excuse to do as little actual work as possible and complain about what they have to do besides. If they could actually get fired (which they can't, the bastards) they might actually do a good job of keeping our bathrooms clean and our hallways free of dirt and mud (which, while admittedly a crappy job, is still what they get paid to do) instead of slacking off six out of eight hours and only making a half-hearted attempt the other two. And then they have the nerve to complain when us part-timers--who make a third of what they do and only have two hours to do our jobs--don't get something done because there aren't enough of us to go around.

Yeah, collective bargaining is nice for leverage against evil companies, and it can net you perks like healthcare and such, but when it becomes an excuse for employees to slough off then there's a need for change. Not everyone is a heartless bastard only in it for the dollar.

Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:27 am
Chibi-Czar

Not to bitch too loudly...

But the Union is why I can't get a raise for actually doing GOOD work.